Composition Competition

2017 Composition Competition Results

Seven compositions for pipe organ were submitted to the 2017 Composition Competition sponsored by the Twin Cities Chapter of the American Guild of Organists. The Competition solicited a previously-unpublished work for solo pipe organ loosely based upon any Baroque form. For example: Gigue, Sarabande, Gavotte, Minuet, Bourrée, and could be a modern or traditional interpretation of the dance form.

In the unanimous opinion of the judges, no piece met the criteria specified above, and thus no prize will be awarded this year.

Requirements for the 2018 Twin Cities American Guild of Organists Composition Competition will be announced this summer at, here on this page.

Past Winners of the Twin Cities AGO Composition Competition

2016: Brenda Portman, Elegy
2015: Erik Meyer, Lydian Suite
2014: Kenneth Logan, Maestoso Jubilante: A Wedding Processional
2013: no prize awarded
2012: Craig Carnahan, Psalm 130: Out of the Depths

© Twin Cities Chapter American Guild of Organists
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software